jump to navigation

New Server, Day 3 November 18, 2009

Posted by jmcomputer in Linux, Projects.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Okay, so after my success with the VirtualBox install of vTiger, I went to the office to try to install vTiger on the server again. This time I am following a couple walkthroughs that I found earlier here and here. The first link is how to do the initial install, and written very nicely on a forum. The second link is how to finish the installation using vTiger’s Installation Wizard (completely html/php based).

So, I completely removed the old database, deleted the entire directory of vTiger in /var, and re-extracted the files again (good thing I saved that .tar file). After getting apache2 setup, and working my way through, I got to the configuring of vTiger, and had access denied messages, seems I had forgotten I had altered the envvars for Apache on my last few attempts. At this point, everything seems to be flowing nicely. Now I take a moment and write down all the different users/passwords that are being used (mysql, vtiger, user accounts, etc)…

Well, that went off nicely, now we have an empty CRM that we can start using (as soon as I start adding users into it). I’ve also got a couple bandwidth monitoring things running (I think I’ll have to start using screen on this too). Got Dovecot, Postfix, and SSH configured.

TODO: Add users to the CRM, add the mail server to the CRM, get hostname configured properly (aside from localhost stuff), and finally contact the network provider to get NAT tables set up for this server.

WOW! Almost finished on this thing!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment